## SCHOOL DISTRICT OF THE MENOMONIE AREA MINUTES OF A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION MENOMONIE HIGH SCHOOL 1715 5TH STREET W, MENOMONIE, WISCONSIN AUGUST 25, 2021 - 6:30 P.M.

## I. OPENING ITEMS

- **A.** Call to Order President David Styer called the meeting of the Board of Education of the School District of the Menomonie Area to order at 6:31 p.m. on Wednesday, August 25, 2021, in the Auditorium of the High School at 1715 5th Street W, in Menomonie, Wisconsin.
- **B. Roll Call and Quorum** Roll call showed nine board members present: Chris Freeman, Mark Hillman, Clint Moses, Karl Palmer, Amy Riddle-Swanson, Charlie Schneider, Angie Skillings, and David Styer. President Styer declared a quorum and noted that the meeting had been duly noticed. Administrators in attendance were Joe Zydowsky, Shannon Branch, Keila Drout, Kristin Humphrey, Lori Smith, Sam Hoyt, Tonia Kowieski, and Brian Sequin. Also in attendance were Recording Secretary Janet Quinn and videographer Steve Hanson. Electors and/or others registering attendance included Amy Gallixson, Philip Diser, Wyatt Kreutzer, Scott Leach, Alexndra Hall, Karen Jansen, Margaret Paulson. Korlee Witzel, Michael Pechmiller, Jeremy James, Cat James, Dana Leipnitz, Mindy Eckert, Amanda Shepard, Tami Jackson, Ashley Coates, Tammy Rudolph, Kari Sisko, Sofia Jevne, Leni Marshall, Al Leipnitz, Elijah Pember, Chuck Morning, Stephanie May, Cassie Ullum, Sarah Lambert-Freeman, Joyce Uhlir, Tammy Giljohann, Josh Rynes, Rochelle Homes, Stacey Otto, Samantha Hoff, Maritza Pierson, Erin Shackleton, Dustin Weiker, Jean Jacobs, Amy Smiskey, Dave Smiskey, Angie Prine, Ariel Caferelli, Heidi Rabeneck, Melanie Mareinal, Amy Zuber-Seguin, Sara Ohman, Tanya Young, Jean Enyeart, Joel Jackson, Jeff Witt, Nancy Morrell, Brittany Shultz, Andrew Schultz, Eric Gates, Ryland Erdman, Brenda Vasey, Leslie Norris, Ellen Ochs, Tracen Vail, Andrew Williams, Melissa Richards, Cathy Stamper, Sarah Gates, Brice Wayne, Jen Colline, Nathan Roesler, Emi Stueke, Brandon Schak, Mark Harnisch, Amanda Prochnow, Allen Crowe, Damon Williamson, Ryan Martin, Casey Martin, Tracy Morning, Kathy Hayes, Aaron Vasey, Andrew Null, Laurel Madsen, Kim Leach, Judy Kahl, Todd Schultz, Don Johnson, Erin Radle, Chad Barfknecht, Kris Wilkens, Kyle Rudolph, Kathy Jacobson, Eric Bailey, Rachel Henderson, John Michael Starling, Innisfree McKinnon, Jodie Olson, Kristen Korkowski, Mike Feller, Mike Cooper, Cecil Cooper, Tony Flom, Ryan Jones, Larry Mullen, Chrisdee Kuc, Jesse Kuch, Sam and Stacy Hintzman, Jack Arnold, Chad Bartlett, Lisa Dahms, Kayla Waterhase, Burke Welch, Avigdor Edminister, Tammy Christianson, Ajay Christianson, Brain Gowling, Christine Woodward, Nathan Gaide, John Alexander, Joanne Keays, Grorg Gregory, Chad Cummings, Jaqueline Bonneville, Brain Woodhull, Lindsay Langman, Dominique Stewart, James Stewart, Patricia Peter, Chad Buhr, Sheila Thompson, Paul Horvath, Chelsea Lovejoy, Nick ARnold, Jamie Shata, Olivia Sunday, Thomas Pearson, Mitch Ogden, Bobbie Stokke, Lucas Chase, Julie McFadden, Joe Kersten, Allison Feller, Lisa Enj, Mike Brewer, Melissa Jones, Elizabeth Wolbert, Kevin Deutsch, April Evenson, Laurie Christianson, Jeff Sweat, Todd Zimmerman, Jeanne Rothaupt, Erin Alexander, Karen Styer, Kjerstin Lee, DAn Brandenburg, Ana Wolbert, Rebecca Woodhall, Bethany Risler, Joe Lawrence, Josie Pillman, Rhonda Messerschmidt, Gary Messerschmidt, Cassandra Kopp, Crystal Bahr, Gretchen Yonko, Brain Teague, Tricia Thompson, Sana Wanzer, Simone Perrin, Julie Beston, Kathy McNally, Penny Burstad, Jessie Olson, Lynda Paulson, Daniel Paulson, Mindy Johnson, Lori Wilsey, Ron Wilsey, Tawny Nelson, Elizabeth Spader, Dennis Spader, Mary Burkett, Aleron Leipnitz, Kelly Pember, Tony Pember, Carol Nies, Maggie Kanan, Mandy Little, Charles Jones, Abraham Smith, Lorin Mollan, Scott Pen, Natalie Topper, Jennifer Strany, Jessica Kopaczewski, Martin Erdman, Amber Jackson, Nora Moses, Jenna Brandenburg, Alicia Prochnow, Emily Beck, Monika Herrmann, Ginger & Marc Hoppa, Ashley McClelland.
- C. Agenda Order and Approval/Revision The agenda order was approved as presented.

**D.** Community Communications - Electronic communications that were received before 3:00 p.m. Wednesday, August 25, 2021 were from Carol Breslin, Craig Olson, Daniel Paulson, Emily Beck, James Dimock, Lisa Quinn-Lee, Mandy Colby, Michelle Yor-Bogard, Nita Fitzgerald, Phil Schwarz, Rachel Henderson, Sheila Thompson, and Steve Stockton. Damon Wilkinson, Casey Martin, Ryan Martin, Gretchen Yonko, Chad Barfknecht, Kelley Hayes, Dana Wanzer, Brian Teague, Philip Diser, Alexandra Hall, Julie Beston, Kim Leach, Simone Perrin, Penny Burstad, Lucy Rudenborg, Karen Jansen, Margaret Paulson, Wyatt Kreutzer, Chelsea Lovejoy, Dennis Spader, Dana Leipnitz, Kelly Pember, Rachel Henderson, Bobbie Stokke, John Michael Starling, Sarah Lambert-Freeman, Innisfree McKinnon, Mich Ogden, Abraham Smith, Thomas Pearson, Jen Flanders, Mike Cooper, Ariel Caferelli, Nora Moses, Bethany Risler, April Evenson, each used their allotted 3 minutes to address the board.

## II. ACTION AGENDA

- A. Action to Update the SDMA COVID-19 Plan Freeman made a motion, seconded by Palmer, that the board approve updates to the masking and contact tracing policies as presented in the SDMA COVID-19 Plan 2021-2022. Skillings made a motion, seconded by Husby to amend and vote on the changes as two separate items; 1) masks are required for all higher risk exposure situations such as singing, specialized healthcare services (eg. toileting, feeding, therapies, first aid, etc), and for any individuals entering SDMA buildings for COVID-19 testing, and 2) the SDMA will conduct contact tracing for any potential COVID-19 exposures that might occur during the school day and during school sponsored activities. All students and staff are expected to cooperate with contact tracing efforts. Motion to separate changes into two separate items failed on a 4-5 roll call vote with Freeman, Palmer, Riddle-Swanson, Schneider, Styer casting "nay" votes. The motion to approve the updates to the SDMA COVID-19 Plan as presented passed on a 5-4 roll call vote with Hillman, Husby, Moses, and Skillings casting "nay" votes.
- **B.** Action to Approve Indoor Masking Order Riddle-Swanson made a motion, seconded by Freeman that the use of cloth face coverings will be required for all SDMA staff, students, and visitors while inside any school facility during the school day (eg. when the school office is ordinarily open for business per Policy 322), unless 6' of physical distancing can be achieved. Exceptions to the indoor masking requirement will be made for eating, drinking, rigorous physical activity, mask breaks when teachers decide that conditions are safe (eg. silent activities when students are stationary with at least 3' of distancing), and for other documented medical needs approved by the building principal. The indoor masking order will expire on October 2, 2021, unless extended by the district administrator or majority vote of the school board. Husby made a motion, seconded by Moses to amend the motion and change wording to "recommended" and "recommendation" in lieu of required and requirement. Motion passed on a 5-4 roll call vote with Freeman, Palmer, Riddle-Swanson, Styer casting "nay" votes. Moses made a motion, seconded by Skillings to table Indoor Masking Order indefinitely. Motion to table the Indoor Masking Order indefinitely passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

## III. **ADJOURNMENT**

A. Action to Adjourn - Schneider made a motion, seconded by Hillman, to adjourn the meeting at 9:20 p.m. The motion carried on a unanimous roll call vote.

_	/s/ Clinton Moses			
$\mathbf{C}$	linton l	Moses,	Clerk	

jq

Minutes Approved: September 13, 2021